Wilton Centre

For more information, or to discuss your requirements further, please get in touch with us or complete our short form.

Wilton Centre
Telephone: 01642 438050

Dodds Brown
Telephone: 01642 244130

Knight Frank
Telephone: 0191 221 2211

Vanessa Clark - Sinclair Clark
Telephone: 020 7494 9399

You are here: Home Wilton Centre News News Archive 2011 02 Industry honours its high fliers Login

Industry honours its high fliers

February 2011


The Sembcorp Winning Quartet (L -R) Dean Mitchell (Young Achiever), George Ritchie (Lifetime Achievement Award), Katy Ramirez (Young Achiever) & Dean Carney (Apprentice of the Year, Manufacturing)

Individuals, schools and companies were honoured at the North East Process Industry Cluster (NEPIC) awards night at the Hardwick Hall Hotel in Sedgefield.

More than 450 leading industrialists gathered to see the prizes handed out and NEPIC Chairman Bob Coxon told them that there was optimism for the future despite difficult times.

He said: "Our industry is always rejuvenating itself and inevitably sometimes there are regrettable closures. I can tell you these have been outweighed by many new investments - in the last four years there have been eight closures but this has been countered by 32 new investments, acquisitions and reinvestments.

"The Coalition government has publicly stated their support for these growth areas but we will need industry’s support to make sure that they understand the role of NEPIC, in bringing investment to the region."

The winners were:

Cleveland Scientific Institute - Apprentice of the Year 2010
Supply Chain - Gareth Powell, Assistant Cost Engineer/Project Controller, Aker Solutions - winning £1000
Manufacturing - Dean Carney, Apprentice Process Technician (TVPT), Sembcorp - winning £1000

Redhall Engineering Five Young Achievers 2010
Biotechnology - Uyi Uwagboe, MSD Biologics, Billingham - winning £1000
Pharmaceuticals - Mhairi Anderson, COVANCE, Alnwick - winning £1000
Commodity, Petrochemicals & Energy - Katy Ramirez, Sembcorp, Wilton - winning £1000
Fine & Speciality Materials - Dr Keri McCall PETEC, @ CPI, Sedgefield - winning £1000
Supply Chain & Support Services - Dean Mitchell, Sembcorp, Wilton - winning £1000

BOC Environmental Awards 2010 - Primary School Award - winning £2000 each
Startforth Morritt Memorial CofE Primary School, Barnard Castle
Springwell Village Primary School, Gateshead

BOC Environmental Awards 2010 - Secondary School Award - winning £2000
Framwellgate School, Durham

BOC Environmental Awards 2010 - Post 16 School Award - winning £2000
SRC Bede 6th Form College, Billingham

BOC Environmental Awards 2010 - Industrial Award
Merck Sharp & Dohme, Cramlington

CPI Innovation Award 2010
Shasun Pharma Solutions, Dudley Cramlington

NEPIC Manufacturing Sustainability Award 2010
Cleveland Biotech, Stockton on Tees

Teesside University Outstanding Contribution Award 2010
George Ritchie, Sembcorp Utilities, Senior Vice President for HR/IT & Industrial Park Services.

Wilton Centre are proud to be associated with:

Innovation Accelerator
Catapult Hight Value Manufacturing
Member of NOF energy